The Weight of Things

The Weight of Things.

via The Weight of Things.

An absolutely insane article by a mother who put her seven year old daughter on a diet, publicly humiliated her among her friends during that diet, and then had the gall to write an article for Vogue and sign a book deal. (By the way, Vogue and the publishing house should be ashamed.)

Em Types posted the article and her take on it. I agree with her completely.

No parents are perfect, but when it comes to young girls, I wish sometimes mothers realized how much of an impression they make on their daughters, and how the delicate balance of weight and self esteem can follow her the rest of her life if it’s shaken.

 

About emma

I'm a writer making my way through life and offering observations as I go. Old enough to know better but that doesn't stop me. View all posts by emma

2 responses to “The Weight of Things

  • subtlekate

    I wonder if this mother has looked at her own relationship with food and how that has been passed onto her daughter. Children learn their eating habits and a mother that is constantly critizing her own body may pass that along. A child that comes from a healthy home will be the weight that is most healthy for them, and that includes an emotionally healthy home.

  • emma

    Emotional health is what’s really going to be missing in this child’s life. I agree with your comments completely.

    Thanks for reading and commenting.

Leave a comment